• Home
  • Old World Wine Regions Sept 2018

Old World Wine Regions Sept 2018

  • Mon, September 17, 2018
  • Mon, December 17, 2018
  • 14 sessions
  • Mon, September 17, 2018, 5:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Mon, September 24, 2018, 5:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Mon, October 01, 2018, 5:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Mon, October 08, 2018, 5:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Mon, October 15, 2018, 5:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Mon, October 22, 2018, 5:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Mon, October 29, 2018, 5:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Mon, November 05, 2018, 5:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Mon, November 12, 2018, 5:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Mon, November 19, 2018, 5:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Mon, November 26, 2018, 5:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Mon, December 03, 2018, 5:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Mon, December 10, 2018, 5:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • Mon, December 17, 2018, 5:30 PM 8:30 PM
  • TBA
  • 8

Registration


Register

This module explores the major wine regions of the old world including: France, Italy, Spain, Portugal, Germany, Greece, Austria and Hungary. In sensory evaluation, students study wines by weight and flavour. In this section students will assess wines according to where they are produced and are expected to recognize, by region, the character and quality of the major wines of Europe learning the history, terroir, laws, culture, leading producer and trends. Special attention is given to France and Italy since they share the largest part of the wine market in the world today. Students continue to develop tasting ability and wine assessment skills. In addition, special attention is paid to learning local cuisine and classic pairings.

This course starts in September. 

Syllabus of Course Content:

  • Class 1: Wines of Bordeaux 1 (Focus on Left Bank)
  • Class 2: Wines of Bordeaux 2 (Focus on Right Bank)
  • Class 3: Wines of Burgundy 1 (Focus on Whites/Chardonnay)
  • Class 4: Wines of Burgundy 2 (Focus on Reds/Pinot Noir)
  • Class 5: Wines of the Rhone Valley and Loire Valley
  • Class 6: Wines of Champagne and Alsace
  • Class 7: Southwest: Languedoc-Roussillon, Provence, Jura, Savoie, Corsica/ Presentations 1
  • Class 8: France Midterm/Student Presentations 2
  • Class 9: Wines of Italy 1 (Overview: North including Piedmont)
  • Class 10: Wines of Italy 2 (Central: Umbria, Marches, Tuscany & Islands)
  • Class 11: Italy Midterm/Student Presentations 3
  • Class 12: Wines of Spain
  • Class 13: Portugal, Greece, Mediterranean, Eastern Europe
  • Class 14: Germany/Austria/Switzerland/Student Presentations 4
  • Class 15: Final Exam

Course Evaluation:

  • 25% – France Midterm (Written: 20%; Blind tasting: 5%)
  • 15% – Italy Midterm (Written: 10%; Blind tasting: 5%)
  • 40% – Final Exam (Written: 25%; Blind tasting: 15%)
  • 10% – Class Presentation
  • 10% – Attendance/Participation
Save
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software